Michel Pleimling

Michel Pleimling, Director

Program Leader, Integrated Science Curriculum

Professor, Physics

Email: pleim@vt.edu

Phone: (540) 231-6073

Welcome to the Academy of Integrated Science,
Virginia Tech's home for cross-disciplinary scientific education!

Our three new Bachelor's degree programs, Computational Modeling and Data Analytics (CMDA), Nanoscience, and Systems Biology, bring together multiple areas of expertise to explore powerful new approaches to current complex scientific problems. The innovative Integrated Science Curriculum (ISC) offers a two-year deeply interdisciplinary educational experience centered on student teams working in labs and lectures. The Science, Technology, and the Law minor focuses on intellectual property issues, thus addressing a need for scientists and engineers who are, or will be, involved in projects seeking marketable outcomes.

Our unique cross-disciplinary programs provide the students with the skills and tools that allow them to be competitive in an increasingly interdisciplinary job market.

- Michel Pleimling, Director of the Academy of Integrated Science


Administrative Staff

Cara Craze

Cara Craze

Academic Advisor,

Academy of Integrated Science

Email: cara1@vt.edu

Phone: 540-231-8132

Nora Sullivan

Nora Dragovic

Program Manager & Advisor,

Academy of Integrated Science

Email: nora84@vt.edu

Phone: 540-231-8131

Carrie Hopkins

Carrie Hopkins

Academic Advisor,

Academy of Integrated Science

Email: carrieh7@vt.edu

Phone: 540-231-2442

Lab Coordinator for New Interdisciplinary Programs

Craig Tollin

Craig Tolin

Lab Coordinator,

Academy of Integrated Science

Email: ctollin@vt.edu

Phone: 540-231-6759


Division Leaders

Anna-Marion Bieri

Anna-Marion Bieri

Division Leader, 

Science, Technology, & Law

Email: aenlr@vt.edu

Phone: 540-231-7110

Mark Embree

Mark Embree

Division Leader, 

Computational Modeling & Data Analytics

Email: embree@vt.edu

Phone: 540-231-9592

Randy Heflin

Randy Heflin

Division Leader, 

Nanoscience

Email: rheflin@vt.edu

Phone: 540-231-7289

Division Leader, Systems Biology

John Tyson

John Tyson

Division Leader, 

Systems Biology

Email: tyson@vt.edu

Phone (Lab 1): (540) 231-5958 

Phone (Lab 2): (540) 231-5508